Resident Division

Susan L. Ivey, MD Courage to Lead Award

Deadline: 11:59pm PST, April 15th, 2019

In honoring the achievements of AMWA’s resident members, we honor Dr. Ivey’s dedication to the welfare and success of all women physicians in training. Dr. Ivey’s work and commitment to AMWA is a celebration of what women can achieve and contribute to others. Dr. Ivey was the 2006-2007 AMWA National Physician President whose courage led AMWA through financially difficult times. Dr. Ivey has stayed on as vital mentor to AMWA students and residents. As an active advocate for women’s health issues, her work and accolades speak for themselves. We are extremely proud of her accomplishments and acknowledge that without the struggle of women like her, our careers as young women physicians would not be possible.


  • An AMWA national resident member
  • Demonstrated exceptional leadership skills through vision, inspiration, innovation, and coordination of projects that further the mission of AMWA by improving women’s health and/or supporting women in medicine
  • Must be nominated by an AMWA national member

Award: Awardees will be honored during AMWA’s Annual Meeting. The individual award recipient, as well as the nominating AMWA member, is strongly encouraged to attend the meeting.

Nomination Process: Nominations should be submitted using the form below. Please direct questions to

Selection Process: AMWA’s National Resident Board and Dr. Susan L. Ivey, MD will review all nominations. The recipient will be notified by May 15th, 2019.

Nominate a Resident Now


Return to Resident Division Awards Page