AMWA Student Region 1

Region 1 includes CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, and VT

The current Region 1 director is Amalia Bay, MDScM candidate at The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University 2025.

Upcoming Region 1 EVENT THIS WEEK: 

“Why More Women Should Pursue Critical Care”

UCONN is honored to host Critical Care Physician Panelists (see below) who are members of American Thoracic Society (ATS)-Women in Critical Care group
Tuesday Feb 13th from 8-9:30 PM (EST)


Michelle Biehl, MD, MS

Staff Physician, Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine Director, Post-ICU Recovery Clinic (PIRC), Respiratory Institute, Cleveland Clinic

Jenny  Han, MD, MSc

Associate Professor Emory University School of Medicine, Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care, Medical Director Respiratory Therapy Department, Grady Memorial Hospital, Associate Director of Emory Medical Intensive Care Unit, Grady Memorial Hospital

Nandini Sarma, MD

Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine Fellow, Oregon Health & Science University, Former president of AMWA UC Davis School of Medicine

Erika J. Yoo, MD, FCCP

Associate Professor of Medicine, Medical Intensive Care Unit Director, Division of Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine, Jane & Leonard Korman Respiratory Institute, TJU & NJH, Sidney Kimmel Medical College, Thomas Jefferson University


Janice M. Liebler, MD

Professor of Clinical Medicine Director, PCCM Fellowship Research Program Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine, University of Southern California, Former MICU Director at Los Angeles County General Hospital


Thank you for joining us at the Regional Conference! Excited to welcome you next year. If you have any feedback for us please fill out this survey.

Want to see some more photos from the event, or have any photos to share? Check out this drive!

From the Leadership Panel- Our Panelists: Reena Bhatt MD, Angela Caliendo MD, PhD, Barbara Edelheit, MD, Patricia Poitevien, MD, MSc, FAAP, and Moderators: Angela McCarthy and Pooja Prasad

Region 1 Branches

University of Connecticut School of Medicine

  • President: Amber Wilkes
  • Board members: Angela Lynne McCarthy, Pooja Prasad, Seda Gul Sahin, Pearl Sutter, Hiromi Terai

Frank H. Netter Medical School at Quinnipiac University

Yale School of Medicine

University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine

Boston University School of Medicine

Tufts University School of Medicine

  • Co-President: Caroline Rush
  • Co-President: Sophie Smith

University of Massachusetts Medical School

Harvard Medical School 

Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth- Board TBD- chapter in process of getting reinstated

The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University

  • President: Amy Oh
  • VP: Sophia Ahn
  • Treasurer: Anna Kimata
  • Secretary: Julia Gillette
  • Student Liaison for Faculty: Mary Lou

University of Vermont College of Medicine

Board Members:

Want to get in touch with a chapter leader?

Attending a medical school in our region that does not have an active AMWA chapter & want to start your own?

E-mail Amalia at