Medical Student Division

Eliza Lo Chin Unsung Hero Award

Nomination Period: August 1, 2023 – October 31, 2023

For over a decade, Eliza Lo Chin, M.D. has been an active member and driving force within AMWA. She was the President during AMWA’s 95th Anniversary Year and currently serves as the Executive Director.

Throughout the 99th Anniversary Year, Dr. Chin provided guidance, made significant contributions and acted as a mentor for many of the AMWA Student Division leaders. She often carved time out of her busy day as a mother of three children and internist to respond to emails in record time, be present on conference calls and one-on-one phone planning meetings. Dr. Chin took an interest in mentoring and encouraged students to step-up to leadership roles.

Prior to the 99th Annual Meeting, the Medical Student Division leadership elected to honor her behind-the-scenes contributions by establishing the Dr. Eliza Lo Chin Unsung Hero Award. This annual award is presented to the Premedical or Medical Student Division leader nominated by her fellow AMWA leaders that makes substantial – but unrecognized – contributions to AMWA. The award recipient will be announced during the Annual Meeting and will receive a cash award.

Award Eligibility Criteria

Eligible for nomination: National AMWA Medical Student or Premedical Student Leaders
(All student leaders are eligible for the award except the Executive Leadership: President, President-Elect, Secretary, Treasurer)

Eligible to nominate: All National AMWA leaders
(premedical student, medical student, resident, physician, committees)

Applications are accepted August 1, 2023 – October 31, 2023. To nominate an AMWA student leader (undergraduate or graduate), email the completed nomination form to Please submit all files in PDF format. All nominators will receive email notification of receipt of application.

Download Nomination Form

Congratulations to the 2023-2024 winners: Campbell Aiken, Vaishnavi Patel, Emily Marsico


Back to Awards List