Resident Division

Elinor T. Christiansen, MD Altruism Award

Deadline: January 25, 2020, 11:59pm PST
Winner to be awarded $100

Nominate a Resident Now

In honoring the achievements of AMWA’s resident members, we honor Dr. Christiansen’s dedication to the welfare and success of all women physicians in training. Dr. Christiansen’s work and commitment to AMWA is a celebration of what women can achieve and contribute to others. As an active advocate for universal access to health care, her work and accolades speak for themselves. We are extremely proud of her accomplishments and acknowledge that without the struggle of women like her, our careers as young women physicians would not be possible.


  • An AMWA national resident member
  • Demonstrated altruism by acting unselfishly as an ambassador of the healing arts and AMWA for the continued promotion and success of healthcare and AMWA
  • Must be nominated by an AMWA national member


Awardees will be honored during AMWA’s Annual Meeting. The individual award recipient, as well as the nominating AMWA member, is strongly encouraged to attend the meeting.

Nomination Process:

Nominations should be submitted using the form below. Please direct questions to

Selection Process:

AMWA’s National Resident Board and Dr. Elinor T. Christiansen, MD will review all nominations.

Return to Resident Division Awards Page