Pre-Medical Student Division

Pre-Med Awards & Scholarships

AMWA Pre-Medical Awards

All AMWA Premedical Student Members are invited to apply for the following awards and grants. Contact our Premedical Awards Chair with any questions.

Premedical Education Scholarship

Additionally, Pre-Meds are also allowed to apply for the Eliza Lo Chin Scholarship (Dec. 15 – Jan. 31). Please apply here.

Premed Travel Grants to 103rd AMWA Conference

AMWA recognizes the additional financial assistance our members need when planning to attend our meeting. $100 travel grants will be given. Applications for travel grants will be accepted until December 22, 2017 at 11:59PM EST and can be accessed through this submission form.

Please note: AMWA pre-medical students share the same travel grant application as the medical student division for the 2018 conference. Be sure to click “premed” under the division tab, located on the application. 

AMWA student members are eligible to apply for support in traveling to the Annual AMWA Meeting. Special consideration will be given to students running for national leadership positions, volunteering, or traveling from more distant locations.

Premedical Education Scholarship

AMWA understands that your journey in medicine begins before medical school, and that this journey can be expensive. Supporting your career path and ensuring your success is important to us which is why we are offering 2 (two) $250 scholarships to women currently enrolled in undergraduate or post-baccalaureate pre-medical coursework who intend to pursue medical school. Awardees will be chosen based on the embodiment of the goals of AMWA. Financial need, though not a requirement, is also considered.

To find more about this scholarship, please visit our awards page here.

Child Family Health International Global Health Scholarship

Child Family Health International (CFHI) is an NGO providing community-based Global Health Education Programs for students of all levels interested in health or medicine. Through CFHI participants go on 4-16 week placements alongside local healthcare professionals in Latin America, Africa, or India. Participants rotate through clinics and hospitals, attend medical lectures, and become immersed in the healthcare system of the community. CFHI supports underserved communities abroad and is an NGO in Special Consultative Status with the ECOSOC of the United Nations.

CFHI and AMWA have partnered together to provide AMWA members with a yearly $500 scholarship towards a CFHI program. Please click here for more information.

Conference Awards 2018

The awards listed below will be awarded to an AMWA student and branches below at the Philadelphia conference during March 22-25, 2018. The individual applying for the “Woman of the Year” award and at least one representative from a local AMWA premed branch must be present at the conference, in order to apply for the awards below.

Local branches can apply for more than one award in which the results will be decided by the executive board. Results will be announced at the premed conference session. Information regarding the 103rd AMWA Conference, can be found here.

The deadline for these awards will be January 20th, 2018 at 11:59 PM EST, unless otherwise stated below. For any questions, please email our awards chair, Shivani Mathur, at

Branch Awards: 

Local branches can apply for more than one award in which the results will be decided by the executive board. Results will be announced at the premed conference session. Information regarding the 103rd AMWA Conference, can be found here.

AMWA Outstanding Branch Award

Branches that have been established for at least one semester and have at least five national AMWA members can apply for the AMWA Outstanding Branch Award. This award will honor the Premed Branch, which has hosted a series of events that serve the premed community in their region, as well as fulfilling the missions of the national AMWA organization.

Active Branch Award

Awarded to the branch whose members and officers were active at the national and local level. Consideration given to branches with the most number of national members. 

Branch Event Award

Branches who have hosted an event of their creation and wish to nominate their award for being novel, creative, or influential in regards to their study body or community can apply for this award.

International Outreach Award

Awarded to a branch that hosted an event or series of events for an international cause and were able to make a difference in a cause that went above and beyond from an international perspective.

Humanitarian Award

Awarded to the branch that was able to donate many of their proceeds to various charitable/non-profit organizations, or were able to engage with various organizations in their community that are non-profit. (Essentially to encourage branches to work with non-profit organizations in their community).

To apply for branch Awards, please click here.

Individual Awards:

AMWA Student of the Year

An AMWA member can apply for this award or nominate another national member for this award if they felt that they have contributed to the mission statement of AMWA, which is to “function at the local, national, and international level to advance women in medicine and improve women’s health by providing and developing leadership, advocacy, education, expertise, mentoring, and strategic alliances.”

To apply for the Student of the Year Award, please click here.

AMWA Premed Branch Member of the Year

We are excited to announce a new award this year! This award is to recognize individual members of branches who may or may not necessarily have a leadership position, but who have spearheaded a project or stepped up this year. Individual members can apply here until Feb 14