Skip to main content

TIME’S UP Healthcare Launch

by Eliza Lo Chin, MD, MPH

March 1, 2018 marked the official launch of TIME’S UP Healthcare at the New York Academy of Medicine, a program which opened with Dr. Esther Choo’s proclamation, “Today, time’s up in healthcare.”

After decades, and even centuries of suffering, women are no longer willing to be silent victims of gender and sexual harassment within an industry which has too often looked the other way. That time is up.

The American Medical Women’s Association (AMWA), which for the past century has advocated for the advancement of women in medicine, is no stranger to this struggle. Therefore, it was vitally important for us, as an association, to not only be an early partner but also a sponsor committed to ensuring the success of this initiative. AMWA President Dr. Connie Newman and Executive Director Dr. Eliza Lo Chin are among the founding members of TIME’S UP Healthcare and AMWA President-elect Dr. Roberta Gebhard and AMWA Past President Dr. Kim Templeton serve on the Advisory Council. The collaborative spirit and inclusiveness among the ranks is remarkable, reflecting the fact that the organizers don’t just talk the talk, but they walk the walk. As Fatima Goss Graves, President and CEO of the National Women’s Law Center, aptly summarized, “Women do what they do.  Women gather.  Women transform pain into action.”

TIME’S UP Healthcare means that women who have suffered in silence will know that they are no longer alone.  Whether they be physicians, nurses, technicians, or home healthcare aides, TIME’S UP Healthcare will help ensure that their work environment will be safe and equitable, as it should be, for both women and men.

Sign up and learn more here.

L-R: Mollie Marr, Dr. Roberta Gebhard, Dr. Pringl Miller, Dr. Holly Atkinson, Dr. Padmini Murthy, Dr. Kanani Titchen, Dr. Eliza Chin, Maren Moe, Dr. Arghavan Salles

L-R: Dr. Arghavan Salles, Dr. Eliza Chin, Dr. Padmini Murthy, Dr. Kim Templeton, Dr. Pringl Miller, Dr. Holly Atkinson, Mollie Marr, Dr. Roberta Gebhard

L-R: Dr. Roberta Gebhard, Dr. Eliza Chin, Mollie Marr

TIME’S UP Healthcare Founding Members and Advisors

L-R: Dr. Arghavan Salles, Dr. Holly Atkinson, Dr. Kim Templeton, Dr. Eliza Chin, Dr. Roberta Gebhard, Dr. Padmini Murthy, Dr. Kanani Titchen

Close Menu