Skip to main content

Physicians Remembered, Honored & Recognized by AMWA

AMWA Applauds the 2024 Annual Award Winners

The American Medical Women’s Association (AMWA) announces the 2024 physicians and allies to be recognized for their contributions to advancing women in medicine and promoting women’s health at their 109th Annual Meeting on March 23, 2024.

The 2024 AMWA Award Honorees are:

Mary Lake Polan MD, PhD, MPH, Professor of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences at Yale University receives the AMWA Elizabeth Blackwell Award, established as a lasting tribute to the first woman awarded a Medical Degree from an American medical school. Dr. Polan is recognized for her long-standing commitment to women’s health research and her dedication to advancing the understanding and treatment of gynecological conditions. Her work in public health has transformed countless lives and helped shaped the landscape of modern healthcare.

Monica D. Ormeno, DO, a Mental Health Specialist in the Office of the chief of Naval Operations and the Navy Psychiatry Specialty Leader, will be presented with the Bertha Van Hoosen Award named to honor the founder and first president of AMWA, and is presented to recognize a woman physician who has demonstrated exceptional leadership and service to women physicians and medical students through her commitment to the organization.

The 2024 Lila A. Wallis Award recognizes Traci Kurtzer, MA, Medical Director for Trauma Informed Care at Northwestern Medicine, as an individual whose lifetime achievements, accomplishments, motivation, mentorship, energy and enthusiasm for women’s health, education, and research reflect the trailblazing achievements and influences in women’s health as exemplified by Dr. Lila A. Wallis, one of the AMWA’s most beloved Presidents.

Mark Shapiro, MD, FHM, FACP, a hospitalist and the creator, producer & host of Explore The Space podcast, is the 2024 Larry Zaroff Man of Good Conscience Award, which is presented annually to a champion and supporter of women in medicine to remember Dr. Larry Zaroff who was a mentor to generations of women physicians, medical students, and pre-medical students

Commander Nehkonti Adams, MD, will be honored with the Esther Pohl Lovejoy Award named for a past president of AMWA, the first president of the Medical Women’s International Association, and long-time Director of the American Women’s Hospitals Service, AMWA’s charitable relief program. Dr Adams is recognized for her efforts as international humanitarian leader.

Commander Christina L. La Croix, DO, Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Neuroscience Module Co-director at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences will be presented with the 2024 Early Career Physician Award to recognize the outstanding the achievements of this AMWA inspiring physician member.

The Woman in Science Award will be accepted by Louise McCullough MD, PhD, Roy M. and Phyllis Gough Huffington Distinguished Chair and Professor of Neurology at the McGovern Medical School at UTHealth in recognition of her substantial contributions as an internationally renowned physician-scientist who has achieved groundbreaking research in sex differences in cerebrovascular disease.

The 2024 Camille Mermod Award was established to acknowledge a non-physician who has rendered exceptional service to AMWA; this year, AMWA honors Hugh K. Webster, Esq, partner at Webster, Chamberlain & Bean for providing legal service to AMWA for many years.

The Anne C. Carter Leadership Award honors the memory of Anne C. Carter, MD, in acknowledgement of outstanding medical student leadership. The 2024 Carter Awardee is Mikayla Mefford, a 3rd year MD-MPH student at UCLA. She is passionate about improving the lives of women, specifically focused on reducing gender disparities and advancing women’s health.

Additional AMWA Awardees

Applause to Our 2024 Fellows

The American Medical Women’s Association take pride in recognizing and honoring five distinguished members of AMWA who have accomplished outstanding achievements in science, medicine or academia, provided at least five years of service as leaders, mentors, and made a significant contribution to advocacy or policy to further our organization’s mission. The newly inducted Fellows are:

  • Katherine Sharkey, MD, PhD
  • Amna Anees, MD
  • Marion McCrary, MD
  • Cuckoo Choudhary, MD
  • Shweta Akhouri, MD
  • Bisi Alli, DO

2024 Exceptional Mentorship Awardees

Most women physicians will say that they wouldn’t be where they are today had they not had support and encouragement along the way. In fact, many AMWA members say their success and career satisfaction can be credited, at least in part, to the mentorship they received at just the right time from the mentorship. This year AMWA applauds 12 exceptional mentors recognized by their colleagues:

  • Felicia Austin-Jordan, MD
  • Joel Diamant, MD
  • Suzanne Lester, MD
  • Meredith Barnes, MD
  • Jennifer Goedken, MD
  • Emily Margolin, MD
  • Lia Bruner, MD
  • Jennifer Kawwass, MD
  • Theresa Rohr-Kirchgraber, MD
  • Rachel Carpenter, MD
  • Deborah Kwolek, MD
  • Angela Wang, MD

View the full list of AMWA Awardees.

Close Menu