Skip to main content

Inaugural Winners of the AMWA INSPIRE Award

Schaumburg, Ill. – The American Medical Women’s Association (AMWA) recognizes eight accomplished women physicians who exemplify the highest values in vision, integrity, service, and
collaboration in medicine.

The AMWA Leadership Council, comprised of Past-Presidents of AMWA, established the INSPIRE Awards to recognize women physicians who personally and/or professionally provide inspiration to other physicians or students through expert and compassionate patient-oriented medical care, or through mentorship, or service to the community. INSPIRE recipients
were nominated by their peers, or their students, and selected by AMWA leaders.

“We envisioned the AMWA Inspire Awards as an opportunity to recognize women physicians who inspire others through enthusiasm, compassion, and commitment to patient care,” says Connie Newman, MD, founding member and chair of the AMWA Leadership Council. “The AMWA INSPIRE Award was created to honor women in medicine who go above and beyond their daily professional responsibilities, and are nominated by individuals they have influenced.”

Notably, the recipients represent a broad array of specialties including internal medicine, family medicine, anesthesiology and psychiatry. One of the physicians volunteers in a medical clinic at a
homeless shelter for teens and young adults. Another recipient volunteers with Physicians Against Trafficking of Humans (PATH). And, two physicians were honored for developing a forum of women doctors to address challenges facing women physicians and strategies for maintaining wellness.

The 2021 recipients of the AMWA INSPIRE Award are:

  • Monica Broome MD, FACP, FAMWA
    Assistant Professor of Medicine at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
  • Doris Hardacker MD
    Associate Professor Clinical Anesthesia at Indiana University School of Medicine
  • Suzanne Harrison MD, FAAFP, FAMWA
    Professor in the Department of Family Health and Rural Health at Florida State University College of Medicine
  • Susan Lee MD, FACP
    Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine at the State University of New York at Stony Brook
  • Lonzetta Neal MD FACP
    Assistant Professor of Medicine at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota
  • Ankita Sagar MD, MPH, FACP
    Associate Professor of Medicine at the Zucker School of Medicine Hofstra/Northwell Health in Hempstead, New York
  • Molly Uhlenhake, DO, FACP
    Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine and Pediatrics at Truman Medical Center at the University of Missouri-Kansas City
  • Ruchika S. Yusufji MD
    Specialist in Psychiatry and Addiction Medicine at Brentwood Hospital in Shreveport, Louisiana
Close Menu