Skip to main content

AMWA Leaders Awarded Prestigious AMA Giambalvo Grant

Left to right (top row): Eliza Lo Chin, MD, MPH; Roberta Gebhard, DO; Mollie Marr; (bottom row): Mary Rojek, PhD; Arghavan Salles, MD, PhD; Maren Loe, MD/PhD student

AMWA Leaders Dr. Roberta Gebhard, Mollie Marr, Dr. Mary Rojek, Dr. Eliza Chin, Dr. Arghavan Salles, and Maren Loe awarded the scholarship grants from the Joan F. Giambalvo Fund for the Advancement of Women of the American Medical Association.  Dr. Chin, Dr. Gebhard, Dr. Rojek, and Ms. Marr’s research will focus on a “qualitative pilot study that will examine the primary factors that led medical students and residents to leave the medical profession during their training years. The study will provide an important opportunity to learn about women’s experiences during medical training, how we might improve their experience and how the healthcare environment could be more responsive to the needs of all trainees.”

Dr. Salles and Ms. Loe will conduct a study of “core clerkship evaluations of third-year medical students. The goal is to determine whether there is any quantitative difference between male and female students in evaluation questions, and whether there is any qualitative difference between comments written about male and female students.”

Congratulations to this year’s winners!  The first Giambalvo award was granted in 2006. This program was established by the Women Physicians Section (WPS) in conjunction with the AMA Foundation. To date, 25 research awards have been granted.

Read More about the Award and Recipients


Close Menu