Skip to main content

AMWA Board Election Results for Term Beginning March 2024

AMWA Introduces Our Incoming Board Members

AMWA President-Elect (2024-2025)

On behalf of the American Medical Women’s Association (AMWA) community, we applaud Eileen Barrett, MD, MPH, who will serve as President-Elect for one year, beginning at the close of the 109th Annual Meeting in March 2024.

Dr. Barrett is internal medicine physician in Albuquerque, New Mexico. She was recently recognized with the 2023 INSPIRE Award and the 2019 Exceptional Mentor Award from AMWA, and she served as chair of the AMWA Advocacy Committee. A former Graduate Medical Education Wellness Initiatives Director and Director for Continuing Medical Education at the University of New Mexico, Dr Barrett’s research and scholarly work are in areas of clinician wellbeing, gender equity, health equity, and substance use disorders. She is an American Medical Association/Satcher Health Leadership Institute Medical Justice in Advocacy Fellow as well as a Regent Emeritus of the American College of Physicians. She an elected member of the Gold Humanism Honor Society.

Dr. Barrett earned a Master’s in Public Health from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and her MD at Georgetown University. She completed an internal medicine residency at Oregon Health Sciences University Hospital, and a Rural Faculty Development Fellowship at the University of Arizona.

Khawaja Shams, a Senior Director in Engineering at Google, was re-elected as treasurer, to serve for a second term, and Adebisi (Bisi) Alli, DO, MS, a board-certified  internal medicine physician, and quality improvement and patient safety expert as a LEAN Six Sigma Black Belt, will remain on the board for an additional two years.

Announcing Other Board Results

New to the AMWA Board, to serve two-years terms, beginning in March 2024-March 2026 are:

Nicole G. Bentze, DO, is board-certified family physician and Dean of the Sarasota Regional Campus of the Florida State University College of Medicine.

Katrina Green, MD, is board certified emergency physician in Nashville and Lawrenceburg, Tennessee.

Marion McCrary, MD, is an internal medicine physician and clinical associate in the Duke University School of Medicine.

Abby L. Spencer, MD, MS, is a Professor of Medicine and Vice Chair of Education at Washington University School of Medicine at St Louis.

Please join us in sharing this exciting news by engaging with our Board announcements on LinkedIn, Instagram/FB, and X.

Read more

Close Menu