Skip to main content

AMWA Announces 2022 INSPIRE Award Winners

AMWA Recognizes 57 Diverse Women Physicians Who are Inspiring Others as They Lead the Way Forward in Medicine and Healthcare

AMWA is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2022 AMWA INSPIRE Award, which recognizes accomplished women physicians who exemplify the highest values in vision, integrity, service, and collaboration in medicine.

The AMWA INSPIRE Award, established by the AMWA Leadership Council, honors women physicians who inspire others because of their dedication to health care, compassion for patients,  leadership, advocacy efforts, or community service.  Recipients of the award may be nominated by professional colleagues, supervisors, students, or others not in the field of medicine.

“The 2022 Honorees are exceptional women physicians who work in private practice, academia, or as hospitalists,” says Dr Connie Newman, Past President of AMWA and founding member of  the AMWA Leadership Council. “We give this Award during Women in Medicine month to highlight the many contributions of women physicians to medical care, medical education and research.”

This year AMWA had an outstanding body of nominations for the AMWA INSPIRE Award. After a careful review process our Awards Review Committee selected fifty seven truly inspiring women to be honored. The honorees are MDs or DOs in an array of specialties from neurology to psychology to general practice. They work in a variety of settings from large academic centers and highly specialized centers of excellence to smaller community care centers dedicated to underserved populations. They were lauded for their skills and insights in practice, for impressive research and academic accomplishments, and for impact in supporting and advancing the culture and community of medicine.

One winner was described as thriving and gracefully pushing boundaries in a male-dominated specialty, advancing sometimes unpopular DEI initiatives, while remaining well-liked. One nominator conveyed gratitude for a mentor who lets her trainees into her internal dialogues on approaching challenging patient cases and navigating personal doubts, thereby allowing her students to more easily discuss their own difficult cases, challenges or doubts, and facilitating the process of learning and growth.

Respect and empathy were common themes. Winners are modeling these behaviors for trainees and colleagues alike as they work with families dealing with complex pregnancies and developmentally challenged children, as they care for chronically ill individuals who are socially isolated, survivors of trauma, discrimination, and stigma. One winner was described as leveraging the power of connection, narrative medicine, allyship, and inclusion to create safer and more courageous spaces. Another had inspired a nominator to not only dream bigger, but to take on and to achieve bigger things. Grace, ingenuity and bravery were called out among winners who helped their practices and communities to navigate the endless practical and emotional challenges that have accompanied the COVID-19 pandemic.

AMWA is proud and grateful for the work of each and every 2022 INSPIRE Award Winner. We thank this year’s nominators who shared the compelling stories of these truly inspiring women physicians who are making a difference in the advancement of medicine, in the lives of their colleagues and patients and in the culture of their workplaces.

Below is a list of the 57 recipients of the 2022 AMWA INSPIRE Award. Visit our online gallery for pictures and titles of our honorees.

2022 AMWA INSPIRE Award. Winners:

Rooman F. Ahad, MD

Christina Benedict, DO

Brigid Sweeney Boland, MD

Anna Mary Bona, MD

Tina Byun, MD

Martina T. Caldwell, MD, MS

Maria Torroella Carney, MD

Cherilyn Cecchini, MD

Emily Church, MD

Mary Ann Adler Cohen, MD

Ivorie Coleman, MD, MBA

Angelique Collamer, MD

Lora Denton, MD

Alta J. DeRoo, MD, MBA

Charlene M. Dewey, MD, MEd, MACP

Mariely Fernandez, MD

Heather Fields, MD

Roberta E. Gebhard, DO

Lisa Graves, MD, MCLSc

Farzanna S. Haffizulla,MD

Nicole Hancock, MD

Dr. Despina Isihos, DO

Sharon B. Kim, MD

Denise B. Klinkner, MD, MEd

Angela F. Koenig, MD, MPH

Susan W. Lane, MD

Suzanne H. Lester, MD, MS

Tammy Lin, MD, MPH

Margaret C. Lo, MD

Gauri Luthra, MD

Pringl Miller, MD

Nicole E. Myers, DO, MS

Melissa Nothnagle, MD, MSc

Modele O. Ogunniyi, MD, MPH

Sarah Frederike Otter, DO

Mukta Panda, MD, MACP

Marianne Parshley, MD

Nila S. Radhakrishnan, MD

Shlomit Schaal, MD, PhD, MHCM

Cecelia E. Schmalbach, MD, MSc

Biraj D. Shah, MD

Jenny R. Silberger, MD

E. Vanessa Spearman-McCarthy, MD

Nancy D. Spector, MD

Rebecca Spiegel, MD, MA

Natasha K. Sriraman, MD MPH

Kellie Lease Stecher, MD

Sarah Muguette Sukkar, MD

Vidya Sundareshan, MD, MPH

Kim Templeton, MD

Susan Thompson Hingle, MD

Alyssa M Thomas, MD, MPH

Ruth E. Weissberger, MD

Wendi Wills-El-Amin, MD

Catherine R. Womack, MD

Amanda S. Xi, MD, MSE

Noriko Yoshikawa, MD

Close Menu