Browse Enduring Continuing Medical Education Modules: HERE
Event recordings are available to AMWA Members in the AMWA Learning Hub: AMWA LEARNING HUB

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

National Health Resource Center on Domestic Violence webinar

July 11, 2016 @ 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm EDT

Please join us for our upcoming National Health Resource Center on Domestic Violence webinar, “Introduction to Labor and Sex Trafficking: A health care & human rights challenge” on Monday July, 11th 2016; 12-1:30pm PT, 1-2:30pm MT, 2-3:30pm CT, 3-4:30pm ET.

Description: Human trafficking has severe adverse effects on the health, well-being, and human rights of millions of vulnerable adults and young people in the United States and globally. Health professionals can play a significant role in early intervention of this problem and reducing the profound suffering it causes. This webinar will increase understanding of the dimensions of labor and sex trafficking and discuss specific action steps that health professionals can take to address the problem. Speakers will provide a brief overview of the problem from a public health, clinical, and human rights perspective; explain how clinicians can identify and respond; and illustrate how forging community and systems partnerships build more effective local responses. Other more in-depth webinars will be offered later.

At the end of this session participants will be able to:

  • Define labor and sex trafficking of adults and youth and the role of health care and public health professionals in responding to this human rights abuse.
  • Identify indicators for trafficking among patients, including risk factors, signs, and symptoms.
  • Describe three specific approaches that health professionals can take to respond to potentially trafficked patients and to develop effective, collaborative prevention and community response strategies to labor and sex trafficking of adults and youth.

Speakers:

Susie Baldwin, MD, MPH
Los Angeles County Department of Public Health
HEAL Trafficking

Tonya Chaffee, MD, MPH
University of California San Francisco
Co-chair, Education/Training Committee, HEAL

Jordan Greenbaum, MD
Stephanie V. Blank Center for Safe and Healthy Children,
Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta
Co-chair, Education/Training Committee, HEAL

 

Click here to register. 

This webinar will be recorded and available after the webinar.

For questions, please contact mpagan@futureswithoutviolence.org

Thank you,

Lisa James, Director of Health

Details

Date:
July 11, 2016
Time:
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm EDT

Browse past events in Calendar View