Physician Division — Awards

Esther Pohl Lovejoy Award

In 1968, the American Women’s Hospitals Service created the Esther Pohl Lovejoy Award.  This recognition was conceived to honor the name of Dr. Lovejoy and create a tribute in her name because the Directors of the American Women’s Hospitals Service felt that Esther Pohl Lovejoy was the outstanding example of great international humanitarian involvement of women physicians.  It was decided that the Esther Pohl Lovejoy Award should be given to a woman physician who had demonstrated her interest and dedication to the promotion of international relations through improvement in international health. (View Historical background on Award)

2021 AMWA Award Winner

Claudia Morrissey Conlon, MD, MPH, FAMWA

Submit a Nomination

Submit a Nomination

Submission Deadline: September 30, 2021

Past Recipients

2020 Shobha S. Krishnan, MD, FAAFP
2019 No award presented
2018 Ellen Einterz, MD, CM, MPH&TM
2017 Stephanie Van Dyke, MD, MPH (posthumous)
2016 Holly Atkinson, MD