Physician Division — Awards

Larry Zaroff Man of Good Conscience Award

This award is presented annually to a a man who has been a champion and supporter of women in medicine.  Dr. Larry Zaroff was a mentor to generations of physicians, medical students, and pre-medical students.  A retired cardiac surgeon and later humanities professor at Stanford, he was an avid supporter of women in medicine at all stages of their career.  His well-known courses always presented a special session devoted to the issues and challenges faced by women in medicine.  Dr. Eliza Lo Chin, a longtime colleague and guest speaker at these sessions, established this award to honor Dr. Zaroff’s commitment to the advancement of women in medicine.

2023 AMWA Award Winners

David L. Coleman, MD and Ted Johnson, MD, MPH

Submit a Nomination

Submission Deadline: October 30, 2023

Previous Recipients

2022 Douglas DeLong, MD, MACP
2021 Stephen Ray Mitchell, MD, MBA MACP, FRCP
2020 Paul Kirchgraber, MD, MBA
2019 Johannes W. Vieweg, MD, FACS
2018 Marshall A. Wolf, MD
2017 Bernard Lo, MD, and David M. Gaba, MD