Physician Division — Awards

Woman in Science

The Woman in Science Award is given to a woman physician who has made exceptional contributions to medical science, especially in women’s health, through her basic and /or clinical research, her publications and through leadership in her field.


  1. Quality of Scientific Work
    1. Original
    2. Basic or Clinical
    3. Primary role (either primary investigator, co-investigator, or among many)
    4. Current Involvement
    5. Source of Grants
  2. Publications – peer reviewed in scientific journals
  3. High National Leadership Profile
    1. Chair of important committees
  4. Advocacy of Women’s Health and Other Related Issues
    1. Presidency of national scientific organization
    2. Lectures on topic of work
  5. Involvement in AMWA (only if the candidate is an AMWA member – not a prerequisite)

2022 AMWA Award Winner

Submit a Nomination

Submit a Nomination

Submission Deadline: September 30, 2022

Previous Winners

2021   Reshma Jagsi, MD, DPhil
2020   No award presented
2019   Natalie Afshari, MD
2018   Pauline Maki, PhD
2017   Tamara A. Scerpella, MD
2016   Neelum Aggarwal, MD
2015   Myra Hurt, Ph.D.
2014   Claudia Baquet, MD, MPH
2012   Pamela Lipsett, MD, MHPE
2011   Katherine Wisner, MD, MS
2010   Carolyn Westhoff, MD
2009   Mary Guinan, MD, MPH
2008   Linda C.Giudice, MD
2007   Lori Jean Mosca, MD, MPH, PhD
2006   Denise L. Faustman, MD, PhD
2005   Etta Pisano, M.D., FACR
2004   Saroja Bharati, MD
2003   Jo Ann Manson, M.D.
2002   Marianne J. Legato, M.D., FACP
2000   Judith Lewis Herman, M.D.
1999   Bernadine Healy, M.D.
1998   Elizabeth Barrett-Connor, M.D.
1997   Olga Jonasson, M.D.
1996   Florence Haseltine, M.D.
1995   Not Awarded
1994   Suzanne W. Fletcher, M.D.
1993   Nanette Wenger, M.D.