Presidents Recognition Award

Awarded by the incumbent national AMWA President for excellence that may be in any of the following categories: Science, Medicine, Clinical Practice, Leadership, Humanitarianism, or Philanthropy.

2016 Award Recipients

Norma Jo Waxman, MD

Farzanna Haffizulla, MD, FACP, FAMWA

Molly Carnes, MD, MS

Atul Gawande, MD, MPH

Previous Recepients


VADM Vivek Murthy, MD, MBA, Dr. Cecelia Richards, Nicholas Kristof & Sheryl Wu, Laurel Bellows and Dr. Deborah German

Arianna Huffington, Patricia Allen, MD, and Gayatri Devi, MD

Regina Benjamin
MD, MBA, Surgeon General, Vice Admiral USPHS and Margaret A. Hamburg, M.D., Commissioner of Food and Drugs 

Michelle Bachelet, MD