Physician Division — Awards

Anne C. Carter Student Leadership Award

AMWA honors the memory of Anne C. Carter, MD, with an annual award for outstanding student leadership.

Both the individual award recipient and the nominating chapter receive funds (to be used at the chapter’s discretion). Awardees will be honored during AMWA’s Annual Meeting. The individual award recipient, as well as members of the student chapter, are strongly encouraged to attend the meeting. The chapter stipend may be used to assist in the cost of attendance.


  • National AMWA medical student member
  • Demonstrated exceptional leadership skills through vision, inspiration, innovation, and coordination of local projects that further the mission of AMWA by improving women’s health and/or supporting women in medicine
  • Must be nominated by an AMWA student chapter

2024 AMWA Award Winner

Mikayla Mefford

Submit a Nomination

Nominations are now closed.
A statement of interest along with the candidates CV and the Awards Application are required to complete your nomination. Awardees must be present at the Awards Presentation Ceremony at AMWA’s Annual Meeting in order to be eligible to receive an award.

Previous Recipients

2023 Michaela Juels
2022 Sweta Adhikary
2021 Alexandra Pincus
2020 Anna Cassell and Sara Grant
2019 Julia Festa
2018 Mollie C. Marr
2017 Lexi Shepherd
2016 Samia Osman
2015 Amanda Xi
2014 Aleena Paul
2013 Neha Deshpande
2012 Linda Wang
2011 Adrienne Clark
2010 Ashley Styczynski
2009 Misty Richards
2008 Elmira Sadeghi-Razlighi
2007 Elizabeth Shurell
2006 Katie Kupfer
2005 Susie Skaff Hagan
2004 Sarah Friedman