About AMWA

AMWA Committee & Task Force Chairs

AMWA Committee / Task Force Chair Resources and Requirements

Advocacy Committee

Dr. Omega Silva Chair Emeritus
Dr. Theresa Rohr-Kirchgraber Co-Chair
Dr. Rose Berkun Co-Chair
Dr. Norma Jo Waxman Co-Chair
Dr. Samia Osman Resident Chair
Najah Khan Student Co-Chair
Katherine Somodi-Stephenson Student Co-Chair
Yasamin Vafai Premed Chair
Dr. Suzanne Harrison
Dr. Susan Ivey
Dr. Tiffany Wells

American Women’s Hospitals Service

Dr. Dyani Loo Co-Chair
Vacant Co-Chair
Vacant Student Chair

Archives Committee

Dr. Elinor Christianson Co-Chair
Mary Ellen Morrow Co-Chair

Awards Committee

Dr. Doris Hardacker (Rohr-Kirchgraber nominee) Chair  (Term 2019)
Dr. Marjorie Jenkins (Templeton nominee) Term 2020
Dr. Niharika Suchak (Harrison nominee) Term 2021
Dr. Farzanna Haffizulla (Newman nominee) Term 2022
Dr. Suzanne Harrison Past President (Term 2019)
Anne Drolet Student President (Term 2018)

Breast Cancer Task Force

Under Preventive Medicine

Cinema AMWA

Mollie Marr Chair

Culture of Integrity Task Force

Under Wellness Initiative

Depression and Suicidality Task Force

Under Wellness Initiative

Diversity and Inclusion

Dr. Neelum Aggarwal Chief Diversity Officer
Dr. Laurel Waters Physician Chair LGBTQIA Coalition
Dima Elissa Chair – D&I Innovation
MerryJean Losso Medical Student Co-Chair
Gabriela Reyes Medical Student Co-Chair
Dahima Citroen Lopez Medical Student Co-Chair
Isabel Kats Premed Student Co-Chair
Emma Fleisher Premed Student Co-Chair

Documentary Task Force

Dr. Clarita Herrera Co-Chair
Dr. Eliza Chin Co-Chair

Dr. Linda Brodsky Fund Advisory Board

Dr. Roberta Gebhard Chair

Faces of AMWA

Dr. Ashley Styczynski
Dr. Eliza Chin

Fellowship Committee

Dr. Farzanna Haffizulla Co-Chair
Dr. Suzanne Harrison Co-Chair

Finance Committee

Dr. Sharon Batista Chair
Dr. Connie Newman
Dr. Laurel Waters Assistant Treasurer
Dr. Roberta Gebhard
Dr. Gayatri Devi
Claire McDaniel Student Representative

Fixing the Pipeline

Dr. Eliza Chin Physician Co-Chair
Dr. Roberta Gebhard Physician Co-Chair

Fund-raising Committee

Dr. Eliza Chin Chair
Marissa Matthews Student Chair

Gender Equity Task Force

Dr. Roberta Gebhard Chair
Rachael Starcher Student Co-Chair
Annalese Neuenschwander Student Co-Chair

Global Health Task Force

Dr. Padmini Murthy Chair
Dr. Satty Keswani Chair Emeritus
Vacant Resident Chair
Paula Morales Student Co-Chair
Maria Perez Premed Chair

Governance Committee

Dr. Suzanne Harrison Chair
Dr. Theresa Rohr-Kirchgraber
Dr. Lynda Kabbas
Dr. Manveen Saluja
Dr. Elinor Christiansen
Dr. Lina Mehta

Graduate Medical Education Task Force

Dr. Joan Lo Chair

Gun Violence Prevention Task Force

Dr. Stephanie Bonne Co-Chair
Dr. Ilana Rosman Co-Chair
Hannah Decker Student Co-Chair

HPV and Cervical Cancer Task Force

Under Preventive Medicine


Dr. Suzanne Harrison Editor-in-Chief and Co-Chair
Dr. Shenifa Taite Co-Chair
Dr. Holly Atkinson Co-Chair
Dr. Connie Newman Editorial Board
Dr. Tana Welch Editorial Board
Dr. Stacey Watt Editorial Board
Dr. Kim Templeton Editorial Board

Legacy Quilt Task Force

Sneha Michaela SnehaMichaela@gmail.com

Literary AMWA

Dr. Anju Goel Physician Co-Chair
Cristina Denise Go Co-Chair

Maternity Leave Task Force

Under Wellness Initiative

Membership Committee

Dr. Fatima Fahs Chair
Sanju Eswaran Student Chair
Dr. Maria Illakova Resident Co-Chair
Dr. Elisa Quiroz Resident Co-Chair
Rochelle Kinssies Premed Chair

Mentoring Task Force

Dr. Chemen Neal Chair
Dr. Alicia Muratore Resident Chair
Irene Kalbian Medical Student Chair
Nataly Montano Premedical Student Chair

Opioid Addiction

Dr. Connie Newman Contact
Victoria Silverman Student Chair

Past President’s Council

Dr. Elinor Christensen
Dr. Sharyn Lenhart
Dr. Omega Silva

Pediatric Obesity Task Force

Under Preventive Medicine

Physicians Against the Trafficking of Humans (PATH)

Dr. Kanani Titchen Chair
Dr. Juila Geynisman Co-Chair
Dr. Mollie Gordon Co-Chair
Valeria Polcz Student Chair

Preventive Medicine

Dr. Farzanna Haffizulla Physician Co-Chair
Dr. Amanda Valezquez Physician Co-Chair
Dr. Kim Templeton Physician Co-Chair
Victoria Silverman Student Co-Chair
Harleen Sethi Student Co-Chair
Bone and Joint Health (PMTF)
Kim Templeton Physician Chair
HPV and Cervical Cancer Task Force (PMTF)
Shobha Krishnan Physician Chair
Obesity (PMTF)
Amanda Velazquez Physician Chair
Connie Newman former Physician Co-Chair
Pediatric Obesity Task Force (PMTF)
Joan Lo Physician Co-Chair
Louise Greenspan Physician Co-Chair
Pulmonary, Allergy& Immunology(PMTF)
Shahnaz Fatteh Physician Chair

Program Committee

Dr. Eliza Chin Program Co-Director
Dr. Amanda Xi Program Co-Director
Vacant Program Committee Chair
Vacant Resident Program Co-Chair
Vacant Resident Program Co-Chair
Vacant Student Program Co-Chair
Vacant Student Program Co-Chair
Vacant Premed Chair

Public Relations

Dr. Rose Berkun Physician Co-Chair
Vacant Co-Chair
Natasha Rich Student Chair
Ashley Singh Premed Chair

Publications Committee

Vacant Chair
Jayashree Raikhelkar Chair (Newsflash)
Dr. Aleena Paul Past Chair
Tracey Cook Student Chair
Vacant Layout / Design
Dr. Eliza Chin Editor
Dr. Sarah Cutrona Editor

Sex and Gender Health Collaborative

Dr. Jan Werbinski Executive Director
Mary Rojek Chair

Sex and Gender Summit

Dr. Eliza Chin
Laura Gardner

Social Media

Dr. Karen Poirier-Brode Chair
Lauren Faber Student Co-Chair
Leslie Miller Student Co-Chair
Jocelyn Parra Premed Chair

Studio AMWA

Dr. Karen Poirier-Brode Chair
Dr. Fatima Fahs Resident Chair
Olivia Roy Student Co-Chair
Ariana Ellis Student Co-Chair
Hiba Ibad Artist in Residence 2017-2018
Vacant Artist in Residence 2018-2019

Traveling Exhibit

Dr. Eliza Chin
Umber Ahmed Student Chair

Underage Drinking

Dr. Eliza Chin
Jenny Chen Student Co-Chair
Apoorva Dharmadhikari Student Co-Chair

We are the First

Anna Lee Chair

Website Committee


Wellness Initiative

Dr. Kim Templeton Chair
Vacant Resident Chair
Vacant Student Chair
Culture of Integrity Task Force
Dr. Roberta Gebhard Chair
Dr. Kim Templeton
Dr. Stacey Watt
Dr. Nicole Sandhu
Depression and Suicidality Task Force
Dr. Theresa Rohr-Kirchgraber Chair
Gul Jabbar Student Chair
Maternity Leave Task Force PreMedRecruitment@amwa-premed.org
Dr. Theresa Rohr-Kirchgraber Chair
Dr. Kim Templeton Chair
Reentry Initiative
Dr. Kim Templeton Chair

Women’s Health Working Group

Dr. Kim Templeton Chair
Lauren Smith Student Co-Chair

Women Physicians in War Project

Dr. Eliza Chin
Zayn Holt Student Co-Chair
Marnie Siegal Student Co-Chair

Regional Governors

Vacant Region 1 Governor – CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT Region1Governor@amwa-doc.org
Vacant Region 2 Governor – NJ, NY Region2Governor@amwa-doc.org
Dr. Robyn Faye Region 3 Governor- DC, DE, MD, PA, VA, WV Region3Governor@amwa-doc.org
Dr. Nicole Bentze Region 4 Governor – FL, GA, NC, SC Region4Governor@amwa-doc.org
Dr. Lauren Walter Region 5 Governor – AL, LA, MS, TN, The Caribbean Region5Governor@amwa-doc.org
Dr. Anne Marie Hake Region 6 Governor – IL, IN, KY, MI, OH Region6Governor@amwa-doc.org
Vacant Region 7 Governor – AR, IA, KS, MN, NE, ND, OK, SD, WI, MO Region7Governor@amwa-doc.org
Dr. Kelli Cohen Fein Region 8 Governor – AZ, CO, ID, MT, NM, NV, TX, UT, WY Region8Governor@amwa-doc.org
Dr. Gloria Wu Region 9 Governor – AK, CA, HI, OR, WA Region9Governor@amwa-doc.org