AMWA Committee & Initiative Chairs

Committee Descriptions

Send an email to associatedirector@amwa-doc.org, if a group you are interested in does not have an email listed.

 

COMMITTEES

Advocacy

advocacy@amwa-doc.org
Dr. Katrina Green Chair doctorhurricane@gmail.com
Theresa Rohr-Kirchgraber Dr. Theresa Rohr-Kirchgraber Co-Chair Theresa.RohrKirchgraber@uga.edu

American Women’s Hospital Service

awhs@amwa-doc.org
Dr. Laura Helfman Chair riverdoc@outlook.com
Dr. Sara Schwanke; Dr. Dianna Fox Co-Chairs diannafox72@gmail.com; schwanke@ohsu.edu

Awards and Fellowships

Dr. Beth Garner Chair egarnermd@gmail.com

Development

Education

Marion McCrary, MD, FACP Dr. Marion McCrary Chair marionmccrarymd@gmail.com
Abby Lyn Spencer Dr. Abby Spencer Co-Chair abbys@wustl.edu

Executive

Susan Hingle Dr. Susan Hingle Chair shingle@siumed.edu

Finance

Khawaja Shams Chair kshams@gmail.com

Governance

Dr. Eileen Barrett Chair barrett.eileen@gmail.com

(JEDI) Diversity and Inclusion

DiversityChief@amwa-doc.org
Dr. Neelum Aggarwal Chair neelum8007@gmail.com
Dr. Chyanne Brown Co-Chair chyanne.brown.cb@gmail.com

Membership

membership@amwa-doc.org
Dr. Jody Lack Chair jlack@siumed.edu
Dr. Robert Robinson Co-Chair rrobinson@siumed.edu

Sex and Gender Health

sghc@amwa-doc.org
Dr. Deborah Kwolek Chair DKWOLEK@mgh.harvard.edu
Dr. Kelsey Martin Co-Chair Kelsey.martin@yale.edu

 

WORKING GROUPS

Coaching

Domestic and Intimate Partner Violence

stopdomesticviolence@amwa-doc.org
Chair
Co-Chairs

Fertility

Dr. Ariela Marshall Chair ariela.marshall@gmail.com

Global Health

Graduate Medical Education

Kim Templeton MD Dr. Kim Templeton Chair ktemplet@kumc.edu

Gun Violence Solutions

gunviolencesolutions@amwa-doc.org

HPV

Khawaja Shams Chair kshams@gmail.com

Leadership Council

Menstrual Equity

Mentorship

mentoring@amwa-doc.org
Dr. Barbara Edelheit Chair bedelhe@connecticutchildrens.org

Migraine Management

Nutrition and Health

Dr. Masina Wright Chair therealwrightdoctor@gmail.com

Obesity Management and Prevention

Opioid Epidemic

Physicians Against the Trafficking of Humans (PATH)

Well-Being and Professional Fulfillment

INTEREST AND AFFINITY GROUPS

Humanities

Dance, Theater, and Medicine dance_theater@amwa-doc.org
Literary Dr. Anjali Gupta, Chair literaryAMWA@amwa-doc.org
Music & Medicine Dr. Mary Rorro, Chair
Studio AMWA Dr. Karen Poirier-Brode, Chair poirierbrodekaren@gmail.com

International Medical Graduates

img@amwa-doc.org
Dr. Yazmin Heredia Chair minheredia@gmail.com

Military

Dr. Glennie Leshen Chair glennie.e.leshen.mil@health.mil
Dr. Savannah Woodward Co-Chair savannah.I.woodward.mil@health.mil

 

COLLABORATIVES & TASK FORCES

Reproductive Health Coalition

GEMS Alliance

Wellness Through Equity and Leadership (WEL)

wel@amwa-doc.org
Dr. Katie Sharkey Chair katherine_sharkey@brown.edu

Gender Equity Task Force

GETF@amwa-doc.org
Dr. Rosy Thachil Chair rthach65@gmail.com
Dr. Roberta Gebhard Co-Chair docgebhard@gmail.com

Regional Governors

Dr. Nicole Bentze Regional Governor Lead
Dr. Sharyn Lenhardt Regional Governor Lead
Dr. Jodi Frances Abbott Region 1 Governor — CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT Region1Governor@amwa-doc.org
Dr. Akwi W. Asombang Region 1 Lt. Governor — CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT Region1Governor@amwa-doc.org
Dr. Poonam Desai Region 2 Governor — NJ, NY Region2Governor@amwa-doc.org
, Dr. Mana Rao Region 2 Lt. Governor — NJ, NY Region2Governor@amwa-doc.org
Dr. Robin Faye Region 3 Governor- DC, DE, MD, PA, VA, WV Region3Governor@amwa-doc.org
Dr. Shweta Akhouri Region 4 Governor — FL, GA, NC, SC Region4Governor@amwa-doc.org
Dr. Lauren Walter Region 5 Governor — AL, LA, MS, TN, The Caribbean Region5Governor@amwa-doc.org
Dr. Sherell Hicks Region 5 Governor — AL, LA, MS, TN, The Caribbean Region5Governor@amwa-doc.org
Dr. Ruqiya Shama Tareen Region 6 Governor — IL, IN, KY, MI, OH Region6Governor@amwa-doc.org
Dr. Kellie C Lease Stecher Region 7 Governor — AR, IA, KS, MN, NE, ND, OK, SD, WI, MO Region7Governor@amwa-doc.org
Dr. Molly A. Uhlenhake Region 7 Lt. Governor — AR, IA, KS, MN, NE, ND, OK, SD, WI, MO Region7Governor@amwa-doc.org
Dr. Kelli Cohen Fein Region 8 Governor — AZ, CO, ID, MT, NM, NV, TX, UT, WY Region8Governor@amwa-doc.org
Dr. Gloria Wu Region 9 Governor — AK, CA, HI, OR, WA Region9Governor@amwa-doc.org