About AMWA – Board of Directors & Staff

Eileen Barrett, MD, MPH, MACP, FAMWA

President-Elect 2024 – 2025

Eileen Barrett, MD, MPH, is a rural internal medicine hospitalist and former AMWA Advocacy Chair . She received her MPH from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and her MD at Georgetown University, and completed internal medicine residency at Oregon Health Sciences University Hospital. She completed a Rural Faculty Development Fellowship through the University of Arizona in 2009 and a Medical Justice and Advocacy Fellowship through Morehouse School of Medicine and the American Medical Association in 2022. She was elected Chair of the Board of Regents of the American College of Physicians after serving on the Board of Regents and Board of Governors. Dr Barrett received a 2019 Exceptional Mentor Award from AMWA, is an elected member of the Gold Humanism Honor Society, received a 2021 Award of Excellence in Humanitarian Services from the Society of Hospital Medicine, received a 2022 Inspiration Award from the American Medical Association, and received a 2023 Inspire Award from AMWA. Her research and scholarly work are in the areas of clinician wellbeing, health equity, and improving the care of people with substance use disorders.

Return to AMWA Leadership